Mastering Mykonos

Mykonos was eventful to say the least. I took on the role of planning the trip for 9 out of 14 people. “Plan a trip” they said, “It’ll be fun,” they said. It was messy but I have to say it was worth it. 

Booking the Airbnb was easy with the help of a travel savvy friend of mine, but the issue of ferry tickets was whole new ballgame including more than a desired amount of strikeouts. Going into the weekend, we were facing a strike by most ferry lines. We booked the Airbnb starting on Friday night, but quickly we learned that due to the strike we had to leave Saturday morning. 

As I went to book tickets, prices were higher than usual which is quite literally a college student’s worst nightmare. Once everyone was on board with that price I went on to buy the tickets, and what do you know, they went up again. After some silent lulls that probably meant people were not so happy with me, I booked the tickets and pushed it off as a technical difficulty. 

After a 4:15 AM wake up call, we got in a taxi and drove to the port. With no pep in my step, I went up to the counter to claim our tickets. 

“There are no tickets reserved with your name on it,” said the less than enthusiastic man at the counter. 

I think at that point I almost passed out. I had nine people counting on me to get there. Oh, did I mention this was also my birthday weekend? 

After some debating and translation between myself, a Greek friend, and the counter person, we ended up with tickets that cost 22 euros round trip. We had saved almost 100 euros. I was bursting with happiness. I knew something had to give. 

We loaded the ferry and because of our discount tickets, we were required to sit on the top deck. A gust of wind every three seconds and plastic chairs awaited us and our five hour journey. 

After shivering and of course – a delay, we arrived at Mykonos. The beautiful blue and white building graced the clear shoreline that created an image that none of us from abroad have ever seen. I quite honestly felt as if I had just stepped on the set of “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.” 

Seven of us checked into our apartment and we were greeted by the nicest and hippest “Yaya” I have yet to see. She gave us the keys and the lowdown on the city and we started our fun. All my friends made a big deal about it being my birthday and for the first time in Greece, I felt like I was included in a little family. After popping champagne on the balcony overlooking a fairytale, we were off to explore. 

That night we all met up at a seafood restaurant to eat, and the food I had (linguine and seafood) was incredible. Two of my friends surprised me with a Tequila Sunrise which topped my food off, not only because they bought me a drink, but I was just genuinely happy they thought of me. 

The rest of the night was of course, a little bit of partying because…it is Mykonos right? 

The next morning we explored some more but before long it was time to leave. This is where our last adventure began…

We had exactly an hour to catch our ferry. With our suitcases and backpacks in hand, we assumed we would just take the water taxi to the port. When we went to get on the water taxi, the next one wouldn’t be there until after our ferry got there. 

Because of the ambiguity in transportation options, we walked. I suppose a more accurate term for that would be power walked/ran to catch the ferry on the other end of the island. Against the wind and uphill battle, we made it just on time. 

The ride on the ferry was literally smooth sailing after that. We ended up scoring a seat inside which was more than we got on the way there, so in the end, we were happy with our trip. 

This trip proved that there really is a first time for everything. 

Leave a Reply

